Experimenting with GCP Cloud Functions

Danielle Adams
4 min readApr 21, 2019

I’m taking Information Security and Privacy for my graduate program right now, and the topic has diverted this week to containerization and serverless architecture. I’ve decided to document getting a function set up on GCP (Google Cloud Platform) because I haven’t really dabbled with any function-based platforms yet. My knowledge on serverless is pretty much “it’s a function in the cloud” which doesn’t say much, so I’m hoping to grasp a little more what the implementation looks like with this.

I’m choosing GCP (over AWS or Azure) because I like their documentation and console. I’ve chosen to build a function that will deliver a Game of Thrones winner because — well, why not?

Setup

It’s pretty easy to set up. Just go to Google’s GCP page and click “Cloud Function” from the sidebar. There may be a few extra steps if you’re a new GCP user. In order to create a Cloud Function, you just have to opt into the free trial, which gives users $300 for a year (at least, I think that’s what I read) and you do need to input a credit card for when the $300 is used up.

Creating a function

This is so much easier than I thought it would be. I clicked a button, and a form has been rendered for me to create my function. There’s even a text box to write my code. I can choose between JavaScript (with different Node engines), Python (3) and Go (1.11). While I want to practice my Go, I think I’ll opt for JS because I can write it about 100x faster.

--

--

Danielle Adams

Software Engineer at AWS. Open source developer, New Yorker, TBD.